Latest Review

Music Review: Paltan!

6th Sep, 2018

J P Dutta's next 'Paltan' is the third of his trilogy, after Border and LOC Kargil. With a huge cast including Jackie Shroff, Arjun Rampal, Sonu Sood, Harshvardhan Rane, Gurmeet Choudhary, Esha Gupta, Sonal Chauhan, Luv Sinha and Siddhanth Kapoor, this movie’s soundtrack has the winning combo of Anu Malik and Javed Akhtar along with singer Sonu Nigam. This film brings together director JP Dutta and composer Anu Malik after 21 years.
The very first song 'Paltan Title Track' is with Prasad Sashte’s melodic whistle. The song has been sung by Divya Kumar, Irrfan, Adarsh and Khuda Baksh. With lyrics that go, ‘Paltan oh paltan, tere liye hum laaye hain tann-mann’, this track is flawless to evoke feelings of patriotism in soldiers. The song has the distinctive catchy beats, soldiers marching which are often elements of a motivating track.
The next song Raat Kitni starts with an impressively melodious tune and Sonu Nigam is spot on with the right pitch and vibe. This track is a witness to the reunion of the creative trio - Nigam, Akhtar and Malik — after their previous hit number 'Sandese Aate Hai' ('Border').
The last number 'Main Zinda Hoon' is a slow moving and melodious track. The arrangement has a classical base with some worthy solo sarangi, violin and guitar tunes. But, this track is tuneful with its inspiring lyrics.
The soundtrack of Paltan is an inspiration soundtrack with the reunion of the creative trio Nigam, Akhtar and Malik.